Compare
How RootWright compares, with a source for every cell.
Every competitor cell below comes from that vendor’s own site, docs or WordPress.org listing, checked on 18 October 2026. Where a vendor doesn’t say, we write “not stated” rather than guess.
How we checked
- Checked 18 October 2026 on each vendor’s site, docs and WordPress.org page.
- “Not stated” means the vendor’s pages don’t mention it. It doesn’t prove they lack it.
- Prices change. Confirm on the vendor’s page before you buy.
- MasterStudy and the five hosted platforms were checked on 4 October 2026, from our competitor research; “[to check]” marks what that check didn’t cover.
Spot a mistake? Write to [[email protected]] and we’ll fix it within a week.
Build your comparison
Which checks matter to you?
All twelveClear
Free plugin on WordPress.orgCheapest paid planPayments without a cart pluginSeveral prices on one courseDrip contentSpaced repetition reviewsLearning loopQuiz question typesCertificates with verificationImport from another LMSPlatform fee on your salesRefund window
And which products?
All elevenWordPress onlyHosted only
WordPress pluginsTutor LMSLearnDashLifterLMSMasteriyoLearnPressMasterStudyHosted platformsTeachableThinkificKajabiLearnWorldsPodia
{checks} · RootWright and {others}
{n} check
{n} checks
{n} other
{n} others
No checks picked
12 checks · RootWright and 11 others
YesPartly, or paid add-onNo, or not statedMarks are our reading of each cell
What you’d check
RootWright
WordPressTutor LMS
WordPressLearnDash
WordPressLifterLMS
WordPressMasteriyo
WordPressLearnPress
WordPressMasterStudy
HostedTeachable
HostedThinkific
HostedKajabi
HostedLearnWorlds
HostedPodia
Free plugin on WordPress.org
Passed review; listing [soon]
Yes · 100,000+ installs
No
Yes · 10,000+ installs
Yes · 6,000+ installs
Yes · 70,000+ installs
Yes; installs [to check]
No: hosted service, no free plan
No: hosted service, no free plan
No: hosted service, no free plan
No: hosted service, no free plan
No: hosted service, no free plan
Cheapest paid planAs listed on the vendor’s pricing page
[Announced at launch]
Individual: $199 / year
Pro: $399 / year (sites per licence not stated)
Earth Bundle: $199 / year sale, $398 regular
Basic: $99 / year sale, $199 regular
Pro Bundle: $299 one-time, 12 months of updates
Single Site: $149 / year
Starter: $39 / month, $348 / year
Basic: $54 / month, $480 / year
Basic: $179 / month, $1,716 / year
Starter: $29 / month, $288 / year
Mover: $49 / month, $504 / year
Payments without a cart plugin
Pro: Stripe and PayPal, with sales tax and EU VAT
Native eCommerce (tier not clear)
Stripe, PayPal, Razorpay, 2Checkout
Manual in core; Stripe add-on $149/yr
Stripe and PayPal, free
PayPal in core; Stripe add-on $39
[to check]
Yes: built-in checkout (teachable:pay)
Yes: Thinkific Payments
Yes: Kajabi Payments
Yes: hosted checkout
Yes: hosted checkout
Several prices on one courseOne-time, subscription and payment plan, in the free plugin
Yes, in the free plugin
Not in the free plugin
No free plugin
Not in the free plugin
Not in the free plugin
Not in the free plugin
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
Drip content
Pro
Pro
Core
Yes (tier not stated)
Yes (pages disagree on tier)
Add-on, $39
Pro add-on
Yes
Yes (scheduled content, all plans)
Yes
Yes
Yes
Spaced repetition reviewsScheduled review of past material
Free · FSRS-6
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Learning loopChecks in the lesson, recall, a daily session and mastery
Free: checkpoint blocks, FSRS-6 recall, Today and a skill map; Pro adds confidence ratings and retention reports
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
Quiz question types
11: 6 free, 5 Pro
13; interactive types Pro
8
4 core + 8 in a paid add-on
9 (3 free, 6 Pro)
4 core
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Quizzes: yes; types [to check]
Certificates with verification
Free, with QR and a verify page
Pro, with ID and QR
Yes; verification not stated
Free; share link, opt-in
Free, with QR
Add-on; verification $39
Pro add-on; a basic builder in free; verification not stated
Builder plan and up (verify); verification not stated
Start plan and up; verification not stated
Yes; verification not stated
Pro Trainer plan and up; verification not stated
Yes; verification not stated
Import from another LMS
In progress [confirm]
Free tool: LearnDash, LearnPress, LifterLMS
Add-on in Pro and Elite
No built-in importer
Free: five LMS plugins
Free add-on: Tutor, LearnDash, MasterStudy
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
[to check]
Platform fee on your sales
0%
0% [confirm exact wording on the pricing page]
Not stated
Not stated
0%
Not stated
0% (no platform fee found)
7.5% on Starter; 0% on Builder and up (teachable:pay)
0% with Thinkific Payments; 1–5% with your own gateway
0% with Kajabi Payments; 0.5–2% with other processors
$5 per paid enrolment on Starter; 0% on Pro Trainer and up
5% on Mover; 0% on Shaker and up
Refund window
[14] days
30 days
30 days (annual plans)
30 days
14 days
Conditions; no day count
14-day money-back guarantee
30-day money-back guarantee
[to check]
30-day money-back guarantee
[to check]
[to check]
Pick at least one check above to see it side by side.
Install counts from WordPress.org. Trademarks belong to their owners. RootWright isn’t affiliated with any vendor listed.
Why people switch
Fourteen reasons to switch, before the details.
Each one is in the build today, tagged Free or Pro. The table below then compares the rest, line by line.
All 14In Free 11In Pro 10
FreePro
Learners remember, not just finish
Most LMS plugins measure clicks. RootWright measures memory, and brings each lesson back right before the learner would forget it.
- 1Check inside the lessonKey concept, Quick check and Pre-question blocks. Misses go into recall.
- 2Recall at the right timeFSRS-6 schedules each review on the server.
- 3Today, every dayRecall, then the next lesson, then more recall, with goals and streaks.
- 4Mastery on a skill mapMastery fades to “needs refresh” until it comes back.
Memory strength · sample course72/100
A 0–100 score per course, from nightly snapshots. Free.
FreePro
Several prices for one course, in the free plugin
Other free LMS plugins give a course one price. RootWright’s free plugin gives it as many as you need.
FreePro
Lessons that make people think
Learning-science practice is built into the lesson itself, so learners don’t just read along.
FreePro
A learning path for each learner
Learners move through skills, not just a list of lessons, and get a plan that fits their own deadline.
FreePro
Sell your way
Keep the store you already use, or sell with no store plugin at all.
Pro
AI that builds the course with you
Go from a brief to a full draft course while you watch it being written, with your house style and your budget in charge.
Pro
Exams built for certification courses
Real exam controls plus practice tests that adapt to each learner.
Pro
Your AI agent can work in your LMS
Connect Claude Desktop or any MCP agent straight to your courses.
Free
Control and privacy you can explain
Every permission has a reason you can see, and every byte of learner data can be exported or erased.
FreePro
Certificates people can trust
Credentials that can be verified, and designs that never change after they are issued.
FreePro
Reach learners where they already are
Learning nudges that arrive in the inbox and chat apps learners already use.
Free
Found by Google and by AI
Courses are ready for search engines and AI assistants without extra setup.
Fair is fair
Where others are ahead of us, right now.
- A track record. Tutor LMS has 100,000+ active installs; LearnPress 70,000+. We have a beta.
- Importers today. Tutor LMS, Masteriyo and LearnPress ship free migration tools now. Ours are in progress.
- More question types. Tutor LMS lists 13. We have 11.
- Reviews. We have none yet. That’s what the beta is for.
Built differently
What we do differently.
- Several prices on one course, free. One-time, subscription and payment plans in the free plugin; none of the five offer that in theirs.
- One table per job: 35 in the free plugin, 54 with Pro, each indexed for the queries an LMS runs, and listed in our docs.
- A student app outside wp-admin that doesn’t depend on your theme.
- Spaced recall. None of the five mentions scheduled reviews.
- An AI that builds the course with you, and a built-in MCP server so your own AI agent can work in your LMS.
- Sales tax and EU VAT in checkout: rates by country and state, inclusive prices, VAT IDs checked and reverse charged.
Sources
Pages we checked on 18 October 2026
Tutor LMS: wordpress.org/plugins/tutor · tutorlms.com/pricing · tutorlms.com/free-vs-pro · tutorlms.com/ecommerce · tutorlms.com/refund-policy
LearnDash: www.liquidweb.com/software/learndash · docs.nexcess.com/software/learndash/payments · docs.nexcess.com/software/learndash/drip-feeding · learndash.helpscoutdocs.com/article/56-quiz-questions · docs.nexcess.com/software/learndash/migrate-learndash · www.liquidweb.com/policies/learndash-refund-2
LifterLMS: wordpress.org/plugins/lifterlms · lifterlms.com/pricing · lifterlms.com/product/stripe-extension · lifterlms.com/docs/lifterlms-quizzes-overview · lifterlms.com/docs/enable-sharing-certificates
Masteriyo: wordpress.org/plugins/learning-management-system · masteriyo.com/pricing · masteriyo.com/features/quiz-builder · masteriyo.com
LearnPress: wordpress.org/plugins/learnpress · learnpresslms.com/pricing-plan · learnpresslms.com/docs/learnpress/admin-guide/quiz · thimpress.com/thimpress-refund-rules
MasterStudy (checked 4 October 2026): stylemixthemes.com/wordpress-lms-plugin/pricing · stylemixthemes.com/wordpress-lms-plugin · docs.stylemixthemes.com/masterstudy-theme-documentation/masterstudy-pro-plus/masterstudy-free-pro-and-pro-plus · docs.stylemixthemes.com/masterstudy-lms/lms-settings/ecommerce/taxes · wordpress.org/plugins/masterstudy-lms-learning-management-system
Teachable (checked 4 October 2026): www.teachable.com/pricing · support.teachable.com/en/articles/11682574-european-union-united-kingdom-vat-on-teachable · ddiy.co/teachable-pricing · schoolmaker.com/blog/teachable-pricing.md
Thinkific (checked 4 October 2026): www.thinkific.com/pricing · support.thinkific.com/hc/en-us/articles/22383950439575-Third-Party-Payment-Gateway-Fee-FAQ · www.ruzuku.com/compare/thinkific-pricing · ddiy.co/thinkific-pricing
Kajabi (checked 4 October 2026): kajabi.com/pricing · help.kajabi.com/articles/products/courses/courses-overview.md · help.kajabi.com/articles/sales/kajabi-payments/kajabi-payments-sales-tax-overview.md · ddiy.co/kajabi-pricing
LearnWorlds (checked 4 October 2026): www.learnworlds.com/pricing · support.learnworlds.com/support/solutions/articles/12000053708 · support.learnworlds.com/support/solutions/articles/12000099963-how-to-take-care-of-tax-calculation-in-learnworlds-with-stripe-tax · support.learnworlds.com/support/solutions/articles/12000017230 · support.learnworlds.com/support/solutions/articles/12000041914
Podia (checked 4 October 2026): www.podia.com/pricing · sellfy.com/blog/podia-pricing · cartmango.com/podia-pricing · apis.io/providers/podia
Judge it on your own site.
Fifty seats. Every Pro feature free for the beta.